Candid Pictures

I am becoming a bigger and bigger fan of candids for the simple reason that they capture the moment as it really was.  People doing exactly what they were doing, without stopping to flash fake smiles.

Of course, having the Wadi Rum valley in the background doesn’t hurt, but that’s not the point.

Candids often document the “in-between”moments which, realistically, is how we spend most of our time.  Those smiley pictures are usually only taken during the highlights.

And sometimes they document a great memory from a different view.

I’m buried under the blue and yellow blanket.  After my favorite day of the trip https://wheresmike.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/best-day-of-the-trip-so-far/, I slept on that mesa under the stars, until the rest of the gang joined me to watch the sunrise.

By definition, somebody else is taking the candid photo, and receiving it is like getting a little gift.  And sometimes they provide the thrill of discovery.  I have been so wrapped up in editing my own photos that I did not look closely at other peoples’ pictures until recently.  Seeing their shots has been like finding an old, forgotten toy in the attic, or uncovering an episode of a favorite show that you somehow never saw.

One possible downside to candids is you may not be in the mood to be photographed.  Maybe you are surprised.  Or maybe you see it coming, but the photographer takes the picture against your will.  Sometimes those are the best pictures to look back on.  Somewhere in our family archives is a shot of me at age 8, crying while I am forced to dip my infected finger in a mug full of scalding hot water mixed with, I think, some sort of medicated salt.  My mood didn’t exactly improve as my father took out the camera despite my protests, but he knew something that I did not, and I bet that’s a pretty funny picture now.

On the other hand, some pictures are good right from the start.

6 thoughts on “Candid Pictures

  1. In our defense it was only WARM salt water and we wanted to clear the infection before we all went on vacation.!!!!!!
    JB

  2. Haha, i’m sorry about the 8 y.o candid but these are great! My favorites of this batch are the Petra solo one and the shot by the sunset with you in the sleeping bag. I agree with you on the candid’s unreserved and unscripted nature, authentic & yes, natural. Good stuff!

Leave a comment