Warning Labels on Cigarettes

In the U.S., cigarette packs include labels such as “Cigarette Smoke Contains Carbon Monoxide” and “Quitting Smoking Now Greatly Reduces Serious Risks to Your Health.”  Let’s face it, those wimpy warnings are not going to stop anyone.  The U.S. Surgeon General should visit Jordan, where they get right to the point.

Some labels appeal to another concern.

Even if you don’t speak Spanish, I think that thumb gets the point across.  Here’s one more from Jordan.

The most severe warnings are in Malaysia.  There are graphic pictures of dead fetuses with the tag line “Cigarette causes miscarriage”.  Though I do have pictures, they are so vile I would rather not post them here.  If you really want to see, go to http://www.tobaccolabels.ca/labelima/malaysia.

I was introduced to these labels by a local who I shared a table with in a crowded Kuala Lampur restaurant.  He had never met an American, and admitted that he knew little about actual life in the states, and had lots of questions.  The interesting thing about this guy was that he did not just ask the typical questions, the most common being whether Obama would win again.  Instead, he mixed it up by doing things like showing me his pack of cigarettes and asking me what I thought of the picture of the dead baby.  He also mentioned a few television shows and asked me whether they were actual depictions of life in the U.S.  I forget which shows he mentioned, but the idea that a person could think it real was so comical that all I could do was laugh and say ‘no’.

2 thoughts on “Warning Labels on Cigarettes

  1. Canadians have these, too. I think the US was batting around the idea of featuring these types of ads a few months ago but the idea was voted down. Interesting about the Malaysian guy’s questions —wonder what he thought about the dead baby picture, did he say?

Leave a comment